summa summa, get here now.

the highly anticipated (okay, maybe just by me), self-produced covers album by my favorite couple ever comes out in a matter of time, and the first track, “laura” by girls, is available for stream and download on their official website.

here’s the tracklist for mates of state’s “crushes (the covers mixtape)”:

  1. Laura (Girls)
  2. Son et Lumiere (The Mars Volta)
  3. Sleep the Clock Around (Belle and Sebastian)
  4. Technicolor Girls (Death Cab for Cutie)
  5. Long Way Home (Tom Waits)
  6. Love Letter (Nick Cave)
  7. Second Hand News (Fleetwood Mac)
  8. 17 Pink Sugar Elephants (Vashti Bunyan)
  9. Roller Coaster Ride (Dear Nora)
  10. True Love Will Find You in the End (Daniel Johnston)

considering the original “laura” sounds like this, crushes seems really really promising. plus, i’ve heard the waits and daniel johnston ones live, which gives me good reason to be excited about the rest.


(via pitchfork)


~ by CJL on April 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: