once again, taylor swift has me wondering “WHY?!?”

i really do love her, but i do not understand her need to publicly air her grievances via song. granted, this article is not confirming that she did, indeed, write a song about a much-speculated romance with john mayer, but REALLY.

see for yourself:

The first chorus begins: “Dear John/I see it all now that you’re gone/Don’t you think I was too young/To be messed with/The girl in the dress/Cried the whole way home/I should’ve known.” A second version of the chorus includes the lines: “It was wrong/Don’t you think nineteen’s too young/To be played/By your dark, twisted games/When I loved you so.”

When rumors of a Mayer/Swift romance broke, some of us had a hard time imagining it, because of his rather famously ruinous reputation in matters of love and her ever-present, protective mom. “Dear John” addresses that: “My mother accused me of losing my mind/But I swore I was fine…” And: “You’ll add my name to your long list of traitors who don’t understand/And I’ll look back in regret I ignored what they said/’Run as fast as you can’.”

and if these rumors are false, why record a song that suggests they are true? is this all part of the big, bad publicity machine to drive sales? (it’s arguable that she even needs publicity to sell records these days.) whatever, taylor swift. you’re the millionaire, so i’ll assume you know what you’re doing.

by the way, did i mention this song is over 6 minutes long?!

“what’s happened to america?”- ben quayle (this seriously NEVER. GETS. OLD.)

(via yahoo!)

~ by CJL on October 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
