well…agree to disagree, conor oberst.

vulture did a feature on him this week. (the people’s key comes out in 2 weeks.)

i love him, but boy, are we different.

“Once you realize that everyone is in the same boat, that everyone is just as insecure and childlike as everyone else, that all these jokers in D.C. ruining our world are just greedy kids grabbing for marbles—I think that realization means you’re an adult,” says Oberst, who can come across as both cynical and a little naïve in his cynicism. “I will say there are evil people in this world. And one of the themes of the new record is standing up and fighting against that. I’d like to think that I will be able to discover a reality apart from this one, you know? Because it seems a little too bleak. I guess that’s wishful thinking.”

“Whenever I meet someone who really follows something, I’m interested,” he says. “But ultimately I think all beliefs are the same. They all want to think we’re more than just this, that we can see and touch. I don’t look down upon them. I’m actually in awe. But there is always something for me that is a turnoff or breaks the suspension of disbelief.”

(via vulture)

~ by CJL on February 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
